Day in the life of lockdown Melbourne

To honest I don’t have a lot to write about. Why because we aren’t able to go anywhere. Instead I will explain what a day is like in lockdown.

Morning: woken up by the pets. First the cat wakes up because he is hungry. He knows he can’t get the boss to wake up. Instead wakes up the dog who then jumps on the bed to wake me up. This all happens between 6 and 7am

Get up out of bed. Put on some clothes and go open the door so Benny (the dog) can go to the toilet. Next step walk to the laundry to feed the crazy fur baby’s.

Once fed I can finally go to the toilet myself. What a relief. Why you might ask. It’s because I am most of the time busting to go.

Next step I will usually go sit on the couch watching a little TV to relax and wake up properly. Then I will go and make myself a coffee.

This is my morning routine every day until the wife wakes up.

Next, my wife will text me to let me know she is up early or her alarm will go off. If it’s a text I go and make the coffee and bring it to her. If the alarm goes off the fur baby’s will run to the bedroom and jump on her. I still make the coffee and bring it to her in bed.

We sit together in bed have a chat about our sleep while she has her coffee. When her coffee is done which is hopefully just before 9 am as she needs to get up and go to work.

Work for the wife is a huge walk from the bed to the room next door. Where her computer is set up ready to go.

Once the wife is at work I pretty much hang out on the couch with the dog and watch tv. I might get up walk around the house, annoy the wife a little, play with the dog. Generally, that’s my morning until lunch time

Midday: Make lunch for me and the wife. We sit at the table and chat about her workday. What’s going well or bad with her colleagues or the clients?

After lunch, I will once again hang out by the couch and watch some tv. This will go on until about 3 pm.

Afternoon: I will have a coffee to wake up and take the dog for a walk down by the creek. The walk will take anywhere between an hour to an hour and a half. This should be enough to tire out my little guy Benny.

Once home I am just as buggered as the dog because my local area is very hilly. I will go and get Benny some water. I will change clothes and then get dinner prepared for the little ones.

5 pm: The pets get fed and are very happy. I will go and ask the wife what she would like for dinner. I will cook and prepare the table for the feast that is cooked. We eat together. Clean up together.

The wife will decompress by going to bed and watch something on the laptop. While I go back to the couch. This time I will do a workout with the dumbells I have in front of the tv. Once done I will make tea for me and the wife.

Bedtime: Between 8:30 and 9 pm I will head to bed. First, before I get into bed I will have a shower to be nice and clean. I put my PJs on and hop into bed next to my wife. Benny will sleep on the floor next to the bed and the cat (Oreo) will sleep on the bed.

That is an average day at home in lockdown. It isn’t the most exciting day by any means but it’s my day. Of course, not every day is the same other days might consist of me studying.

I hope everyone is doing well. Fingers crossed soon I will be able to go out and about and write something more exciting.

Leave a comment